tbilsi 3
tbilisi 1
tbilisi 2

Tbilissi - Capitale de la Géorgie

Meilleur moment pour visiter: printemps, été, automne

Tbilissi est la capitale du pays de Géorgie. Sa vieille ville pavée reflète une histoire longue et compliquée, avec des périodes sous la domination perse et russe. Son architecture diversifiée comprend des églises orthodoxes orientales, des bâtiments art nouveau ornés et des structures modernistes soviétiques. Narikala, une forteresse reconstruite du IVe siècle, et Kartlis Deda, une statue emblématique de la «Mère de Géorgie».

Visites :

La cathédrale Holy Trinity de Tbilissi, communément appelée Sameba, est la principale cathédrale de l'Église orthodoxe géorgienne située à Tbilissi, la capitale de la Géorgie. Construite entre 1995 et 2004, elle est la troisième plus haute cathédrale orthodoxe orientale du monde et l'un des plus grands édifices religieux du monde par sa superficie totale. Sameba est une synthèse de styles traditionnels qui dominent l'architecture de l'église géorgienne à différentes étapes de l'histoire et a des nuances byzantines.

Narikala - est une ancienne forteresse surplombant Tbilissi, la capitale de la Géorgie et la rivière Kura. La forteresse se compose de deux sections fortifiées sur une colline escarpée entre les bains de soufre et les jardins botaniques de Tbilissi. La forteresse a été établie au 4ème siècle sous le nom de Shuris-tsikhe (c.-à-d. "Fort Invidieux"). Il a été considérablement étendu par les Omeyyades au 7ème siècle et plus tard, par le roi David le Constructeur (1089–1125). Les Mongols l'ont renommé «Narin Qala» (c'est-à-dire «Petite forteresse»). La plupart des fortifications existantes datent des XVIe et XVIIe siècles. En 1827, des parties de la forteresse ont été endommagées par un tremblement de terre et démolies .

Kartlis Deda - Mère d'un Kartli ou mère d'un Géorgien - est un monument à Tbilissi, la capitale de la Géorgie.

La statue a été érigée au sommet de la colline de Sololaki en 1958, l'année où Tbilissi a célébré son 1500e anniversaire. L'éminent sculpteur géorgien Elguja Amashukeli a conçu la figure en aluminium de vingt mètres d'une femme en costume national géorgien. Elle symbolise le caractère national géorgien: dans sa main gauche, elle tient un bol de vin pour saluer ceux qui viennent comme amis, et dans sa main droite est une épée pour ceux qui viennent comme ennemis

Abanotubani - est l'ancien quartier de Tbilissi, en Géorgie, connu pour ses bains sulfuriques.

Situé sur la rive est de la rivière Mtkvari au pied du fort de Narikala à travers Metekhisubani, Abanotubani est une partie historique importante de la ville - l'endroit où, selon une légende le roi d'Ibérie, le faucon de Vakhtang Gorgasali est tombé, conduisant à une découverte des sources chaudes et, par la suite, à la fondation d'une nouvelle capitale.

Le parc Mtatsminda est un célèbre parc paysager situé au sommet du mont Mtatsminda surplombant la capitale géorgienne Tbilissi. Le parc a des carrousels, des toboggans, des montagnes russes et une grande grande roue au bord de la montagne, offrant une vue splendide sur la ville.

Le Panthéon des écrivains et des personnalités publiques de Mtatsminda est une nécropole de Tbilissi, en Géorgie, où sont enterrés certains des écrivains, artistes, universitaires et héros nationaux les plus éminents de Géorgie. Il est situé dans le cimetière autour de l'église Saint-David "Mamadaviti" sur la pente du mont Mtatsminda (signifiant la montagne sainte) et a été officiellement créé en 1929. Au sommet de la montagne se trouve le parc Mtatsminda, un parc d'attractions appartenant à la municipalité de Tbilissi.

L'avenue Rustaveli, anciennement connue sous le nom de rue Golovin, est l'avenue centrale de Tbilissi du nom du poète géorgien médiéval Shota Rustaveli .

L'avenue commence à Freedom Square et s'étend sur environ 1,5 km de long, avant de se transformer en prolongement de la rue Kostava. Rustaveli est souvent considérée comme l'artère principale de Tbilissi en raison d'un grand nombre de bâtiments gouvernementaux, publics, culturels et commerciaux situés le long ou à proximité de l'avenue. L'ancien bâtiment du Parlement de Géorgie , le Georgian National Opera Theatre , le Rustaveli State Academic Theatre , l' Académie géorgienne des sciences , l' église Kashveti , le musée Simon Janashia de Géorgie (qui fait partie du musée national géorgien ) et le Biltmore Hotel Tbilisi, entre autres, sont tous situés sur Rustaveli.

L'église Kashveti de Saint-Georges est une église orthodoxe géorgienne dans le centre de Tbilissi , située en face du bâtiment du Parlement sur l'avenue Rustaveli .

L'église de Kashveti a été construite entre 1904 et 1910 par l'architecte Leopold Bilfeldt, qui a basé sa conception sur la cathédrale médiévale de Samtavisi . La construction a été parrainée par la noblesse et la bourgeoisie géorgiennes. Kashveti a été construit sur le site d'une église endommagée construite en briques à la demande de la famille Amilakhvari en 1753. Des contributions importantes à la conception ornée de l'église actuelle ont été apportées par N. Agladze. Les fresques de Kashveti ont été peintes par le peintre géorgien influent Lado Gudiashvili en 1947.

Le nom "kashveti" est dérivé des mots géorgiens kva pour une "pierre" et shva "pour donner naissance". La légende raconte que l'éminent moine David du Gareja des Treize Pères Assyriens du 6ème siècle a été accusé par une femme de l'avoir fait enceinte à Tbilissi. David a prophétisé que sa négation serait prouvée quand elle aurait donné naissance à une pierre. Elle l'a fait, et l'endroit a reçu le nom de «kashveti».

Metekhi est un quartier historique de Tbilissi , en Géorgie , situé sur la falaise surplombant la rivière Mtkvari . Le quartier abrite l'église éponyme de l'Assomption Metekhi.

Le quartier était l'une des premières zones habitées du territoire de la ville. Selon les récits traditionnels, le roi Vakhtang I Gorgasali y a érigé une église et un fort qui servaient également de résidence au roi; d'où vient le nom Metekhi qui remonte au XIIe siècle et signifie littéralement «la zone autour du palais». La tradition veut que c'était aussi un site où la martyre du 5ème siècle Saint Shushanik a été enterrée. La légende raconte également que la falaise de Metekhi était un site du martyre de Habo (VIIIe siècle), le saint patron de Tbilissi . Une petite église en son honneur est actuellement en construction au pied de la falaise.

La cathédrale de Sioni de la Dormition est une cathédrale orthodoxe géorgienne à Tbilissi , la capitale de la Géorgie . Suivant une tradition géorgienne médiévale de nommer des églises d'après des endroits particuliers en Terre Sainte , la cathédrale de Sioni porte le nom du mont Sion à Jérusalem . Il est communément appelé «Tbilissi Sioni» pour le distinguer de plusieurs autres églises de Géorgie portant le nom de Sioni.

La cathédrale de Tbilissi Sioni est située dans le quartier historique de Sionis Kucha (rue Sioni) au centre-ville de Tbilissi, avec sa façade orientale donnant sur le talus droit de la rivière Kura . Il a été initialement construit aux 6e et 7e siècles. Depuis lors, il a été détruit par des envahisseurs étrangers et reconstruit à plusieurs reprises. L'église actuelle est basée sur une version du 13ème siècle avec quelques changements du 17ème au 19ème siècles. La cathédrale de Sioni était la principale cathédrale orthodoxe géorgienne et le siège du catholicos-patriarche de toute la Géorgie jusqu'à la consécration de la cathédrale de la Sainte-Trinité en 2004.

La basilique Anchiskhati de Sainte-Marie est la plus ancienne église de Tbilissi , en Géorgie . Il appartient à l' Église orthodoxe géorgienne et date du VIe siècle. Selon les anciennes annales géorgiennes, l'église a été construite par le roi Dachi d'Ibérie (vers 522-534) qui avait fait de Tbilissi sa capitale. Dédiée à l'origine à la Vierge Marie , elle a été renommée Anchiskhati (c'est-à-dire icône d'Ancha ) en 1675 lorsque l'icône précieuse du Sauveur créée par l'orfèvre Beka Opizari du XIIe siècle au monastère d'Ancha à Klarjeti (dans ce qui fait maintenant partie du nord-est Turquie ) a été déplacé à Tbilissi afin de le préserver d'une invasion ottomane . L'icône a été conservée à la basilique Sainte-Marie pendant des siècles (elle est maintenant exposée au Musée d'art de Géorgie ).

La basilique a été endommagée et reconstruite à plusieurs reprises du XVe au XVIIe siècle en raison des guerres entre la Géorgie et les Perses et les Turcs. Le beffroi de briques près de la basilique d'Anchiskhati a été construit par Catholicos Domenti en 1675.

L'aspect de la structure a été radicalement changé dans les années 1870, lorsqu'un dôme a été ajouté. Pendant la période soviétique , toutes les cérémonies religieuses à la basilique d'Anchiskhati ont été interrompues et le bâtiment transformé en musée d'artisanat. Il a ensuite été utilisé comme studio d'art. De 1958 à 1964, des travaux de restauration ont eu lieu pour célébrer le 1500e jubilé de la fondation de Tbilissi, qui a changé la vue de l'église pour revenir à la version du XVIIe siècle, mais ce n'est qu'en 1991, après le rétablissement de l'indépendance de la Géorgie , que la basilique est revenue à un usage religieux.

Le chœur d'Anchiskhati, basé à la basilique d'Anchiskhati, est le principal représentant au monde de la musique chorale polyphonique géorgienne.

Dry Bridge - est un marché aux puces extraordinaire qui vous divertira pendant des heures. Il y a un assortiment fascinant d'antiquités, de bijoux et de bric-à-brac en vente. Dans les jours difficiles de la Perestroïka et les premières années de l'indépendance, le pont sec est l'endroit où les citoyens endurcis de Tbilissi venaient vendre leurs biens afin de gagner un peu d'argent. Pour certaines personnes, c'est encore le cas aujourd'hui, mais pour d'autres, c'est leur activité principale. Tout est posé sur le sol, souvent soigneusement disposé sur des feuilles de tissu, d'autres fois c'est une collection aléatoire. Une personne pourrait essayer de vous vendre des piles de vingt ans ou une vieille brosse à dents, tandis que son voisin vantera des bijoux anciens en ambre et en argent. Si vous voulez acheter quelque chose, pensez à marchander. Les prix peuvent être gonflés, surtout pour les touristes. Ouvert tous les jours si le temps le permet, de 10h00 à 17h00. Le week-end, il y a généralement plus de vendeurs, mais aussi plus de touristes.

Turtle Lake est une traduction anglaise directe de Kus Tba, un petit lac à la périphérie de Tbilissi , la capitale de la Géorgie , ainsi nommée en raison de l'abondance perçue des tortues vivant dans ces endroits. L'autre nom de ce lac, moins fréquemment utilisé, est K'ork'i

Le lac Turtle est situé sur le versant nord boisé du mont Mtatsminda à une altitude de 686,7 m au-dessus du niveau de la mer et alimenté par une petite rivière Varazis-Khevi, un affluent du Mtkvari (Kura). La superficie est de 0,034 km², tandis que la zone de chalandise est de 0,4 km². La profondeur maximale est de 2,6 m.

La région de Turtle Lake est conçue comme une zone récréative et est fréquentée par les Tbilissiens le week-end. C'est aussi un lieu où se déroulent festivals et concerts. Il peut être atteint par une route ou un tramway aérien menant de la municipalité de Vake à Tbilissi - qui a recommencé à fonctionner en octobre 2016, est ouvert de 8h00 à 22h00 et coûte 1 lari dans chaque direction. À l'ouest du lac se trouve le musée en plein air d'ethnographie , une grande exposition de l'architecture populaire de Géorgie

Le musée d'ethnographie en plein air de Giorgi Chitaia est un musée en plein air à Tbilissi , en Géorgie , présentant des exemples d'architecture populaire et d'artisanat de diverses régions du pays. Le musée doit son nom à Giorgi Chitaia , ethnographe géorgien, qui a fondé le musée le 27 avril 1966. Depuis le 30 décembre 2004, il est administré dans le cadre du Musée national géorgien .

Le musée est situé à l'ouest du lac Turtle sur une colline surplombant le quartier de Vake , Tbilissi. Il s'agit essentiellement d'un village historique peuplé de bâtiments qui y ont été déplacés de toutes les principales subdivisions territoriales de la Géorgie. Le musée occupe 52 hectares de terrain et est organisé en onze zones, présentant environ 70 bâtiments et plus de 8 000 articles. L'exposition présente les maisons traditionnelles en pierre de type darbazi et à toit en fiat de Géorgie orientale , des maisons en bois ajourées avec des toits à pignon en paille ou des planches de Géorgie occidentale , des tours de guet des provinces montagneuses de Khevsureti , Pshavi et Svaneti , Megrelian et Imeretian wattle maize depots, Kakhétie caves (Marani), et Kartli moulins à eau ainsi qu'une collection d'articles ménagers traditionnels tels que des quenouilles, des cadres à tricoter, chums, des vêtements, des tapis, de la poterie et des meubles. Il y a aussi une basilique paléochrétienne "Sioni" de Tianeti et une chambre forte funéraire familiale du 6e au 7e siècle avec un sarcophage.

La place de la Liberté anciennement connue sous le nom d'Erivan (ou Erivanskaya) ou de la place Pashkevich-Erivanskaya sous la Russie impériale et la place Lénine sous l' Union soviétique , est située dans le centre de Tbilissi à l'extrémité est de l'avenue Rustaveli .

La place a été initialement nommée d'après Ivan Paskevich , le comte d'Erivan, un général ukrainien de l'armée impériale russe, qui a gagné son titre en l'honneur de sa conquête d'Erivan (aujourd'hui Erevan ) pour l' Empire russe . Sous l'Union soviétique, la place a été renommée, d'abord «place Beria », puis «place Lénine». [2] L'endroit a été nommé pour la première place de la liberté en 1918, lors de la fondation de la Première République géorgienne après l'effondrement de l'Empire russe.

Freedom Square était le site du vol de banque de Tiflis en 1907 . La Place de la Liberté a également été le site de diverses manifestations de masse, y compris celles pour l'indépendance de la Géorgie (de l' Union soviétique ), la révolution des roses et d'autres. En 2005, Freedom Square était le lieu où le président américain George W. Bush et le président géorgien Mikheil Saakashvili ont pris la parole devant une foule d'environ 100 000 personnes pour célébrer le 60e anniversaire de la fin de la Seconde Guerre mondiale . Au cours de cet événement, le géorgien-arménien Vladimir Arutyunian a lancé une grenade en direct sur le président Bush alors qu'il parlait dans une tentative infructueuse de l'assassiner.

Nous contacter

+995 514 000 140

+995 514 000 146

+995 514 000 914

WhatsApp - +995 514 000 140

info@judi-travel.com

holidays@judi-travel.com

Avec amour de Tbilissi, Géorgie

Judi Travel LLC depuis 2017

Top 10 des voyagistes

0150, Gorgasali 8, Tbilissi, Géorgie

Tous les droits sont réservés

#momentstoremember

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

Pour les mariages et événements

events@judi-travel.com

Membre de

Nos partenaires

Membre de

tbilsi 3
tbilisi 1
tbilisi 2

Tbilisi - Capital of Georgia

Best time to visit: spring, summer, autumn

Tbilisi is the capital of the country of Georgia. Its cobblestoned old town reflects a long, complicated history, with periods under Persian and Russian rule. Its diverse architecture encompasses Eastern Orthodox churches, ornate art nouveau buildings and Soviet Modernist structures. Looming over it all are Narikala, a reconstructed 4th-century fortress, and Kartlis Deda, an iconic statue of the “Mother of Georgia.”

Sightseeing:

The Holy Trinity Cathedral of Tbilisi commonly known as Sameba is the main cathedral of the Georgian Orthodox Church located in Tbilisi, the capital of Georgia. Constructed between 1995 and 2004, it is the third-tallest Eastern Orthodox cathedral in the world and one of the largest religious buildings in the world by total area. Sameba is a synthesis of traditional styles dominating the Georgian church architecture at various stages in history and has some Byzantine undertones.

Narikala - is an ancient fortress overlooking Tbilisi, the capital of Georgia, and the Kura River. The fortress consists of two walled sections on a steep hill between the sulphur baths and the botanical gardens of Tbilisi. The fortress was established in the 4th century as Shuris-tsikhe (i.e., "Invidious Fort"). It was considerably expanded by the Umayyads in the 7th century and later, by king David the Builder (1089–1125). The Mongols renamed it "Narin Qala" (i.e., "Little Fortress"). Most of extant fortifications date from the 16th and 17th centuries. In 1827, parts of the fortress were damaged by an earthquake and demolished.

Kartlis Deda - Mother of a Kartli or Mother of a Georgian - is a monument in Georgia’s capital Tbilisi.

The statue was erected on the top of Sololaki hill in 1958, the year Tbilisi celebrated its 1500th anniversary. Prominent Georgian sculptor Elguja Amashukeli designed the twenty-metre aluminium figure of a woman in Georgian national dress. She symbolizes the Georgian national character: in her left hand she holds a bowl of wine to greet those who come as friends, and in her right hand is a sword for those who come as enemies

Abanotubani - is the ancient district of Tbilisi, Georgia, known for its sulfuric baths.

Located at the eastern bank of the Mtkvari River at the foot of Narikala fort across Metekhisubani, Abanotubani is an important historic part of the city — the place, where according to a legend the King of Iberia, Vakhtang Gorgasali’s falcon fell, leading to a discovery of the hot springs and, subsequently, to founding of a new capital.

Mtatsminda Park is a famous landscaped park located at the top of Mount Mtatsminda overlooking the Georgian capital Tbilisi. The park has carousels, water slides, a roller-coaster, and a big Ferris Wheel at the edge of the mountain, offering a splendid view over the city.

The Mtatsminda Pantheon of Writers and Public Figures is a necropolis in Tbilisi, Georgia, where some of the most prominent writers, artists, scholars, and national heroes of Georgia are buried. It is located in the churchyard around St. David’s Church "Mamadaviti" on the slope of Mount Mtatsminda (meaning the Holy Mountain) and was officially established in 1929. Atop the mountain is Mtatsminda Park, an amusement park owned by the municipality of Tbilisi.

Rustaveli Avenue formerly known as Golovin Street, is the central avenue in Tbilisi named after the medieval Georgian poetShota Rustaveli.

The avenue starts at Freedom Square and extends for about 1.5 km in length, before it turns into an extension of Kostava Street. Rustaveli is often considered the main thoroughfare of Tbilisi due to a large number of governmental, public, cultural, and business buildings that are located along or near the avenue. The former Parliament of Georgia building, the Georgian National Opera Theater, the Rustaveli State Academic Theater, the Georgian Academy of SciencesKashveti ChurchSimon Janashia Museum of Georgia (part of the Georgian National Museum), and Biltmore Hotel Tbilisi among others, are all located on Rustaveli.

The Kashveti Church of St. George  is a Georgian Orthodox Church in central Tbilisi, located across from the Parliament building on Rustaveli Avenue.

The Kashveti church was constructed between 1904 and 1910 by the architect Leopold Bilfeldt, who based his design on the medieval Samtavisi Cathedral. The construction was sponsored by the Georgian nobility and bourgeoisie. Kashveti was built on the site of a damaged church built of brick at the request of the Amilakhvari family in 1753. Significant contributions to the current church’s ornate design were made by N. Agladze. Kashveti’s frescoes were painted by the influential Georgian painter, Lado Gudiashvili, in 1947.

The name "kashveti" is derived from Georgian words kva for a "stone" and shva "to give birth." Legend has it the prominent 6th century monk David of Gareja of the Thirteen Assyrian Fathers was accused by a woman of making her a pregnant in Tbilisi. David prophesied his denial would be proved when she gave birth to a stone. She did, and the place received the name of "kashveti."

Metekhi is a historic neighborhood of TbilisiGeorgia, located on the elevated cliff that overlooks the Mtkvari river. The neighborhood is home to the eponymous Metekhi Church of Assumption.

The district was one of the earliest inhabited areas on the city’s territory. According to traditional accounts, King Vakhtang I Gorgasali erected here a church and a fort which served also as a king’s residence; hence comes the name Metekhi which dates back to the 12th century and literally means “the area around the palace”. Tradition holds that it was also a site where the 5th-century martyr lady Saint Shushanik was buried. Legend has it also that the Metekhi cliff was a site of the martyrdom of Habo (8th century), Tbilisi’s patron saint. A small church in his honor is now under construction at the foot of the cliff.

The Sioni Cathedral of the Dormition is a Georgian Orthodox cathedral in Tbilisi, the capital of Georgia. Following a medieval Georgian tradition of naming churches after particular places in the Holy Land, the Sioni Cathedral bears the name of Mount Zion at Jerusalem. It is commonly known as the "Tbilisi Sioni" to distinguish it from several other churches across Georgia bearing the name Sioni.

The Tbilisi Sioni Cathedral is situated in historic Sionis Kucha (Sioni Street) in downtown Tbilisi, with its eastern façade fronting the right embankment of the Kura River. It was initially built in the 6th and 7th centuries. Since then, it has been destroyed by foreign invaders and reconstructed several times. The current church is based on a 13th-century version with some changes from the 17th to 19th centuries. The Sioni Cathedral was the main Georgian Orthodox Cathedral and the seat of Catholicos-Patriarch of All Georgia until the Holy Trinity Cathedral was consecrated in 2004.

The Anchiskhati Basilica of St Mary is the oldest surviving church in TbilisiGeorgia. It belongs to the Georgian Orthodox Church and dates from the sixth century. According to the old Georgian annals, the church was built by the King Dachi of Iberia (circa 522-534) who had made Tbilisi his capital. Originally dedicated to the Virgin Mary, it was renamed Anchiskhati (i.e., icon of Ancha) in 1675 when the treasured icon of the Savior created by the twelfth-century goldsmith Beka Opizari at the Ancha monastery in Klarjeti (in what is now part of northeast Turkey) was moved to Tbilisi so preserve it from an Ottoman invasion. The icon was preserved at the Basilica of St Mary for centuries (it is now on display at the Art Museum of Georgia).

The basilica was damaged and rebuilt on several occasions from the 15th through 17th centuries due to wars between Georgia and the Persians and Turks. The brick belfry near the Anchiskhati Basilica was built by Catholicos Domenti in 1675.

The look of the structure was drastically changed in the 1870s, when a dome was added. During the Soviet period, all religious ceremonies at Anchiskhati Basilica were halted, and the building transformed into a museum for handicrafts. It was later used as an art studio. From 1958 to 1964 restoration works took place in celebration of the 1500th Jubilee of the founding of Tbilisi, which changed the view of the church back to the seventeenth-century version, however, it was not until 1991, after the independence of Georgia was restored, that the basilica reverted to religious use.

The Anchiskhati Choir based out of the Anchiskhati Basilica is the world's leading exponent of Georgian polyphonic choral music.

Dry Bridge - is extraordinary flea market will keep you entertained for hours. There is a mesmerising assortment of antiques, jewellery and bric-a-brac on sale. In the tough days of Perestroika and the early years of independence, the Dry Bridge is where hard-up citizens of Tbilisi would come to sell their possessions in order to make a little cash. For some people that is still the case today, though for others this is their main business. Everything is laid out on the ground, often carefully arranged on on sheets of material, other times it is a haphazard collection. One person might be trying to sell you twenty-year-old batteries or an old toothbrush, while their neighbour will be touting antique amber and silver jewellery. If you want to buy anything remember to haggle. Prices may be inflated, especially for tourists. Open daily if the weather is good, from 10:00 - 17:00. At weekends there are usually more sellers, but more tourists too.             

Turtle Lake is a direct English translation of Kus Tba a small lake at the outskirts of Tbilisi, the capital of Georgia, so named due to the perceived abundance of turtles living in these places. The other, less frequently used name of this lake is K'ork'i

Turtle Lake is located on the wooded northern slope of Mtatsminda Mount at elevation of 686.7 m above sea level and fed by a small river Varazis-Khevi, a tributary to the Mtkvari (Kura). The area of surface is 0.034 km², while the catchment area is 0.4 km². Maximal depth is 2.6 m.

The Turtle Lake area is designed as a recreational zone and is frequented by the Tbilisians on weekends. It is also a place where festivals and concerts are held. It can be reached either via a road or an aerial tramway leading from Tbilisi’s Vake Municipality - this began operating once more in October 2016, is open from 8:00 until 22:00 and costs 1 lari in each direction. West to the lake is the Open Air Museum of Ethnography, a large exhibition of Georgia’s folk architecture

The Giorgi Chitaia Open Air Museum of Ethnography is an open-air museum in TbilisiGeorgia, displaying the examples of folk architecture and craftwork from various regions of the country. The museum is named after Giorgi Chitaia, a Georgian ethnographer, who founded the museum on April 27, 1966. Since December 30, 2004, it has been administered as part of the Georgian National Museum.

The museum is located west to Turtle Lake on a hill overlooking the Vake district, Tbilisi. It is essentially a historic village populated by buildings moved there from all main territorial subdivisions of Georgia. The museum occupies 52 hectares of land and is arranged in eleven zones, displaying around 70 buildings and more than 8,000 items. The exhibition features the traditional darbazi-type and fiat-roofed stone houses from eastern Georgiaopenwork wooden houses with gable roofs of straw or boards from western Georgia, watchtowers from the mountainous provinces of KhevsuretiPshavi, and SvanetiMegrelian and Imeretian wattle maize storages, Kakhetian wineries (marani), and Kartlian water mills as well as a collection of traditional household articles such as distaffs, knitting-frames, chums, clothes, carpets, pottery and furniture. There are also an early Christian "Sioni" basilica from Tianeti and a 6th-7th century familial burial vault with sarcophagus.

Freedom Square formerly known as Erivan (or Erivanskaya) or Pashkevich-Erivanskaya Square under Imperial Russia and Lenin Square under the Soviet Union, is located in the center of Tbilisi at the eastern end of Rustaveli Avenue.

The square was originally named after Ivan Paskevich, the Count of Erivan, a Ukrainian general of the Russian Imperial Army, who earned his title in honor of his conquest of Erivan (present-day Yerevan) for the Russian Empire. Under the Soviet Union, the square was renamed, first "Beria Square", and then "Lenin Square".[2] The location was first named Freedom Square in 1918, during the foundation of the First Georgian Republic following the collapse of the Russian Empire.

Freedom Square was the site of the 1907 Tiflis bank robbery. Freedom Square has also been the site of various mass demonstrations including those for Georgia's independence (from the Soviet Union), the Rose Revolution, and others. In 2005 Freedom Square was the location where U.S. President George W. Bush and Georgian President Mikheil Saakashvili addressed a crowd of around 100,000 people in celebration of the 60th anniversary marking the end of World War II. During this event, Georgian-Armenian Vladimir Arutyunian threw a live grenade at President Bush while he was speaking in an unsuccessful attempt to assassinate him.

Contact us 

+995 514 000 140 

+995 514 000 146 

+995 514 000 914

WhatsApp - +995 514 000 140

info@judi-travel.com

holidays@judi-travel.com

With love from Tbilisi, Georgia

Judi Travel LLC since 2017

Top 10  Georgian Tour Operators

0150, Gorgasali 8, Tbilisi, Georgia 

All rights reserved 

#momentstoremember

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

For weddings and events

events@judi-travel.com

Member of 

Payment partner