tbilsi 3
tbilisi 1
tbilisi 2

تبليسي - عاصمة جورجيا

أفضل وقت للزيارة: الربيع والصيف والخريف

تبليسي هي عاصمة دولة جورجيا. تعكس البلدة القديمة المرصوفة بالحصى تاريخًا طويلًا ومعقدًا ، مع فترات تحت الحكم الفارسي والروسي. تشمل هندستها المتنوعة الكنائس الأرثوذكسية الشرقية ، والمباني المزخرفة الحديثة والهياكل السوفيتية الحديثة. تلوح في الأفق كل ذلك ناريكالا ، وهي حصن أعيد بناؤه في القرن الرابع ، وكارتليس ديدا ، وهو تمثال بارز لـ "أم جورجيا".

زيارة معالم المدينة :

كاتدرائية الثالوث المقدس في تبليسي المعروفة باسم سامبا هي الكاتدرائية الرئيسية للكنيسة الجورجية الأرثوذكسية الواقعة في تبليسي ، عاصمة جورجيا. شيدت بين عامي 1995 و 2004 ، وهي ثالث أطول كاتدرائية أرثوذكسية شرقية في العالم وواحدة من أكبر المباني الدينية في العالم من حيث المساحة الكلية. Sameba هو توليفة من الأساليب التقليدية التي تسيطر على عمارة الكنيسة الجورجية في مراحل مختلفة من التاريخ ولديها بعض النغمات البيزنطية.

ناريكالا - قلعة قديمة تطل على تبليسي ، عاصمة جورجيا ونهر كورا. تتكون القلعة من قسمين مسورين على تلة شديدة الانحدار بين حمامات الكبريت والحدائق النباتية في تبليسي. تم إنشاء القلعة في القرن الرابع باسم Shuris-tsikhe (أي "Invidious Fort"). تم توسيعه بشكل كبير من قبل الأمويين في القرن السابع وما بعده ، من قبل الملك ديفيد البناء (1089-1125). أعاد المغول تسميتها "نارين قلعة" (أي "القلعة الصغيرة"). تعود معظم التحصينات الموجودة إلى القرنين السادس عشر والسابع عشر. في عام 1827 ، تضررت أجزاء من القلعة بسبب الزلزال وهدمت .

كارتليس ديدا - والدة كارتلي أو أم جورجي - هو نصب تذكاري في عاصمة جورجيا تبليسي.

نصب التمثال على قمة تلة سولولاكي عام 1958 ، وهو العام الذي احتفلت فيه تبليسي بالذكرى السنوية 1500. صمم النحات الجورجي البارز Elguja Amashukeli شخصية الألومنيوم التي يبلغ طولها عشرين متراً لامرأة ترتدي الزي الوطني الجورجي. إنها ترمز إلى الشخصية الوطنية الجورجية: في يدها اليسرى تحمل وعاء نبيذ لتحية أولئك الذين يأتون كأصدقاء ، وفي يدها اليمنى سيف لأولئك الذين يأتون كأعداء

Abanotubani - هي المنطقة القديمة في تبليسي ، جورجيا ، والمعروفة بحماماتها الكبريتيك.

تقع على الضفة الشرقية لنهر Mtkvari عند سفح قلعة ناريكالا عبر Metekhisubani ، Abanotubani هي جزء تاريخي هام من المدينة - المكان ، حيث سقط صقر Vakhtang Gorgasali ، وفقا لأسطورة ملك Iberia ، صقر Vakhtang Gorgasali ، مما أدى إلى اكتشاف من الينابيع الساخنة ، وبالتالي لتأسيس عاصمة جديدة.

متاتسميندا بارك هو منتزه ذو مناظر طبيعية شهير يقع في الجزء العلوي من جبل متاتسميندا ويطل على العاصمة الجورجية تبليسي. تحتوي الحديقة على دائري ، وزلاقات مائية ، وأفعوانية ، وعجلة فيريس كبيرة على حافة الجبل ، مما يوفر إطلالة رائعة على المدينة.

ال Mtatsminda Pantheon من الكتاب والشخصيات العامة هي مقبرة في تبليسي ، جورجيا ، حيث يتم دفن بعض أبرز الكتاب والفنانين والعلماء والأبطال الوطنيين في جورجيا. يقع في ساحة الكنيسة حول كنيسة سانت ديفيد "مامادافيتي" على منحدر جبل متاتسميندا (أي الجبل المقدس) وتم تأسيسه رسميًا في عام 1929. وفي أعلى الجبل يوجد متاتسميندا بارك ، وهو متنزه مملوك لبلدية تبليسي.

شارع روستافيلي المعروف سابقًا باسم شارع جولوفين ، هو الشارع المركزي في تبليسي الذي سمي على اسم الشاعر الجورجي في العصور الوسطى ، شوتا روستافيلي .

يبدأ الشارع في ساحة الحرية ويمتد بطول 1.5 كم تقريبًا ، قبل أن يتحول إلى امتداد شارع كوستافا. غالبًا ما تعتبر روستافيلي الطريق الرئيسي في تبليسي بسبب عدد كبير من المباني الحكومية والعامة والثقافية والتجارية التي تقع على طول أو بالقرب من الشارع. مبنى برلمان جورجيا السابق ومسرح الأوبرا الوطنية الجورجية ومسرح روستافيلي الأكاديمي الحكومي والأكاديمية الجورجية للعلوم وكنيسة كاشفيتي ومتحف سيمون جاناشيا في جورجيا (جزء من المتحف الوطني الجورجي ) وفندق بيلتمور تبليسي من بين أمور أخرى. كلها تقع في روستافيلي.

Rustaveli avenue

كنيسة كاشفيتي في سانت جورج هي كنيسة أرثوذكسية جورجية في وسط تبليسي ، تقع مقابل مبنى البرلمان في جادة روستافيلي .

تم بناء كنيسة Kashveti بين عامي 1904 و 1910 من قبل المهندس المعماري ليوبولد بيلفيلدت ، الذي بنى تصميمه على كاتدرائية Samtavisi من القرون الوسطى. تم رعاية البناء من قبل النبلاء والبرجوازية الجورجية. تم بناء Kashveti في موقع كنيسة متضررة من الطوب بناء على طلب عائلة Amilakhvari في 1753. قدم مساهمات كبيرة في التصميم الحالي للكنيسة المزخرفة بواسطة N. Agladze. تم رسم لوحات جدارية Kashveti بواسطة الرسام الجورجي المؤثر ، Lado Gudiashvili ، في عام 1947.

اسم "kashveti" مشتق من الكلمات الجورجية kva لـ "حجر" و shva "للولادة". تقول الأسطورة أن الراهب ديفيد غاريخا من الآباء الآشوريين الثلاثة عشر اتهمته امرأة بجعلها حاملًا في تبليسي. تنبأ ديفيد أن إنكاره سيثبت عندما أنجبت حجرًا. فعلت ذلك ، وتلقى المكان اسم "كاشفيتي".

The Kashveti Church of St. George

ميتيخي هو حي تاريخي في تبليسي ، جورجيا ، يقع على منحدر مرتفع يطل على نهر متكفاري . الحي موطن لكنيسة ميتيكي العذراء.

كانت المنطقة واحدة من أقدم المناطق المأهولة على أراضي المدينة. وفقا للروايات التقليدية ، أقام الملك فختانغ الأول غورغسالي هنا كنيسة وحصنًا كانا أيضًا بمثابة سكن للملك. ومن هنا يأتي اسم Metekhi الذي يعود تاريخه إلى القرن الثاني عشر ويعني حرفيا "المنطقة المحيطة بالقصر". تقول التقاليد أنها كانت أيضًا موقعًا دفنت فيه السيدة الشهيد سانت شوشانيك في القرن الخامس. تقول الأسطورة أيضًا أن منحدر متخي كان موقعًا لاستشهاد هابو (القرن الثامن) ، قديس تبليسي . كنيسة صغيرة على شرفه هي الآن قيد الإنشاء عند سفح الجرف.

Metekhi churche

كاتدرائية سيميوني في دورميتيون هي كاتدرائية أرثوذكسية جورجية في تبليسي ، عاصمة جورجيا . باتباع التقليد الجورجي في العصور الوسطى في تسمية الكنائس بعد أماكن معينة في الأرض المقدسة ، تحمل كاتدرائية سيوني اسم جبل صهيون في القدس . ومن المعروف باسم "تبليسي سيوني" لتمييزها عن العديد من الكنائس الأخرى عبر جورجيا التي تحمل اسم سيوني.

تقع كاتدرائية تبليسي سيوني في سيونيس كوشا (شارع سيوني) التاريخي في وسط مدينة تبليسي ، مع واجهتها الشرقية المواجهة للجسر الأيمن لنهر كورا . تم بناؤه في البداية في القرنين السادس والسابع. ومنذ ذلك الحين دمرها الغزاة الأجانب وأعيد بناؤها عدة مرات. تستند الكنيسة الحالية على نسخة من القرن الثالث عشر مع بعض التغييرات من القرن السابع عشر إلى القرن التاسع عشر. كانت كاتدرائية Sioni الكاتدرائية الأرثوذكسية الجورجية الرئيسية ومقر بطريرك كل جورجيا الكاثوليكية حتى تم تكريس كاتدرائية الثالوث المقدس في عام 2004.

The Sioni Cathedral of the Dormition

تعد كنيسة Anchiskhati في سانت ماري أقدم كنيسة باقية في تبليسي ، جورجيا . ينتمي إلى الكنيسة الجورجية الأرثوذكسية ويعود تاريخه إلى القرن السادس. وفقا للسجلات الجورجية القديمة ، تم بناء الكنيسة من قبل الملك داتشي من إيبيريا (حوالي 522-534) الذي جعل تبليسي عاصمته. مكرسة في الأصل للعذراء مريم ، أعيدت تسميتها Anchiskhati (أي ، أيقونة Ancha ) في 1675 عندما الرمز الثمين للمخلص الذي أنشأه صائغ الذهب Beka Opizari في القرن الثاني عشر في دير Ancha في Klarjeti (في ما هو الآن جزء من الشمال الشرقي تركيا ) تم نقلها إلى تبليسي حفاظًا عليها من الغزو العثماني . تم الاحتفاظ بالأيقونة في بازيليك سانت ماري لقرون (وهي معروضة الآن في متحف جورجيا للفنون ).

تضررت الكاتدرائية وأعيد بناؤها في عدة مناسبات من القرن الخامس عشر إلى القرن السابع عشر بسبب الحروب بين جورجيا والفرس والأتراك. تم بناء جرس الطوب بالقرب من كنيسة Anchiskhati من قبل Catholicos Domenti في عام 1675.

تم تغيير شكل الهيكل بشكل كبير في سبعينيات القرن التاسع عشر ، عندما تمت إضافة قبة. خلال الفترة السوفيتية ، توقفت جميع الاحتفالات الدينية في كنيسة Anchiskhati ، وتحول المبنى إلى متحف للحرف اليدوية. تم استخدامه لاحقًا كاستوديو فني. من عام 1958 إلى عام 1964 جرت أعمال الترميم احتفالًا بيوبيل 1500 لتأسيس تبليسي ، والتي غيرت وجهة نظر الكنيسة إلى نسخة القرن السابع عشر ، ومع ذلك ، لم يكن ذلك حتى عام 1991 ، بعد استعادة استقلال جورجيا ، أن الكاتدرائية عادت إلى الاستخدام الديني.

جوقة Anchiskhati التي تقع خارج كنيسة Anchiskhati هي الداعية الرائدة في العالم لموسيقى الكورال البوليفونية الجورجية.

 Anchiskhati Basilica of St Mary
 Anchiskhati Basilica of St Mary

Dry Bridge - هو سوق غير عادي للبراغيث سيبقيك مستمتعًا لساعات. هناك تشكيلة ساحرة من التحف والمجوهرات و bric-a-brac للبيع. في الأيام الصعبة لبيريسترويكا والسنوات الأولى للاستقلال ، كان الجفاف الجاف هو المكان الذي سيأتي فيه مواطنو تبليسي المتشددون لبيع ممتلكاتهم من أجل كسب القليل من المال. بالنسبة لبعض الأشخاص الذين لا يزالون كذلك اليوم ، على الرغم من أن هذا هو عملهم الرئيسي للآخرين. يتم وضع كل شيء على الأرض ، وغالبًا ما يتم ترتيبه بعناية على ألواح من المواد ، وفي أحيان أخرى تكون مجموعة عشوائية. قد يحاول شخص ما بيع بطاريتك التي تبلغ من العمر 20 عامًا أو فرشاة أسنان قديمة ، في حين أن جارهم سوف يروج للمجوهرات المصنوعة من العنبر والفضة العتيقة. إذا كنت تريد شراء أي شيء تذكر أن تساوم. قد تكون الأسعار مبالغ فيها ، خاصة بالنسبة للسياح. يفتح يوميًا إذا كان الطقس جيدًا ، من 10:00 إلى 17:00. في عطلات نهاية الأسبوع عادة ما يكون هناك المزيد من البائعين ، ولكن المزيد من السياح أيضًا.

Dry bridge tbilisi

Turtle Lake هي ترجمة إنجليزية مباشرة لكوس Tba وهي بحيرة صغيرة في ضواحي تبليسي ، عاصمة جورجيا ، سميت بهذا الاسم بسبب وفرة السلاحف التي تعيش في هذه الأماكن. الاسم الآخر الأقل استخدامًا لهذه البحيرة هو K'ork'i

تقع بحيرة السلحفاة على المنحدر الشمالي المشجر لجبل متاتسميندا على ارتفاع 686.7 م فوق مستوى سطح البحر وتتغذى من نهر صغير Varazis-Khevi وهو رافد إلى Mtkvari (كورا). تبلغ مساحة السطح 0.034 كيلومتر مربع ، بينما تبلغ مساحة المستجمع 0.4 كيلومتر مربع. أقصى عمق 2.6 متر.

تم تصميم منطقة بحيرة السلحفاة كمنطقة ترفيهية ويتردد عليها تبليسيون في عطلات نهاية الأسبوع. كما أنها مكان تقام فيه المهرجانات والحفلات الموسيقية. يمكن الوصول إليه إما عن طريق طريق أو ترام جوي يؤدي من بلدية Vake في تبليسي - بدأ هذا العمل مرة أخرى في أكتوبر 2016 ، ويفتح من 8:00 حتى 22:00 ويتكلف 1 لاري في كل اتجاه. غرب البحيرة يوجد متحف الهواء الطلق للإثنوغرافيا ، وهو معرض كبير للهندسة المعمارية الشعبية لجورجيا

Turtle lake tbilisi

متحف جيورجي تشيتيا المفتوح للإثنوغرافيا هو متحف في الهواء الطلق في تبليسي ، جورجيا ، يعرض أمثلة على العمارة الشعبية والحرف اليدوية من مناطق مختلفة من البلاد. تم تسمية المتحف باسم Giorgi Chitaia ، عالم الإثنوغرافيا الجورجية ، الذي أسس المتحف في 27 أبريل 1966. منذ 30 ديسمبر 2004 ، تم إدارته كجزء من المتحف الوطني الجورجي .

يقع المتحف غرب بحيرة تيرتل على تلة تطل على منطقة فيك ، تبليسي. إنها في الأساس قرية تاريخية مأهولة بالمباني المنقولة هناك من جميع التقسيمات الإقليمية الرئيسية لجورجيا. يحتل المتحف 52 هكتارًا من الأراضي وهو منظم في أحد عشر منطقة ، ويعرض حوالي 70 مبنى وأكثر من 8000 قطعة. ويضم المعرض التقليدي darbazi من نوع ومسقوف فيات البيوت الحجرية من شرق جورجيا ، المخرم بيوت خشبية ذات أسقف من القش الجملون أو لوحات من غرب جورجيا ، أبراج المراقبة من المحافظات الجبلية من خيفسوريتي ، Pshavi ، و سفانيتي ، Megrelian و Imeretian الذرة اللغد مخازن ، مصانع نبيذ Kakhetian (marani) ، مطاحن مياه Kartlian بالإضافة إلى مجموعة من الأدوات المنزلية التقليدية مثل السلالم ، إطارات الحياكة ، الصنوبر ، الملابس ، السجاد ، الفخار والأثاث. هناك أيضا كنيسة مسيحية مبكرة من " تيوني " من تيانيتي وقبو مدفون عائلي من القرنين السادس والسابع مع التابوت.

 Giorgi Chitaia Open Air Museum of Ethnography

تقع ساحة الحرية المعروفة سابقًا باسم Erivan (أو Erivanskaya) أو ساحة Pashkevich-Erivanskaya تحت الإمبراطورية الروسية وميدان لينين تحت الاتحاد السوفياتي ، في وسط تبليسي في الطرف الشرقي من شارع روستافيلي .

كان اسمه في الأصل مربع بعد إيفان باسكيفيتش ، وعدد من يريفان، و الأوكرانية العام للجيش الامبراطوري الروسي، الذي حصل على لقبه تكريما لغزوه من يريفان (الوقت الحاضر يريفان ) لل إمبراطورية الروسية . تحت الاتحاد السوفياتي ، تمت إعادة تسمية الساحة ، أولاً باسم "ميدان بيريا " ، ثم "ساحة لينين". [2] أطلق على الموقع اسم ساحة الحرية لأول مرة في عام 1918 ، أثناء تأسيس جمهورية جورجيا الأولى بعد انهيار الإمبراطورية الروسية.

كانت ساحة الحرية موقعًا لسرقة بنك Tiflis عام 1907 . كانت ساحة الحرية أيضًا موقعًا لمختلف المظاهرات الجماهيرية بما في ذلك مظاهرات استقلال جورجيا (من الاتحاد السوفياتي ) ، وثورة الورود ، وغيرها. في عام 2005 ، كانت ساحة الحرية هي المكان الذي خاطب فيه الرئيس الأمريكي جورج دبليو بوش والرئيس الجورجي ميخائيل ساكاشفيلي حشدًا من حوالي 100000 شخص احتفالًا بالذكرى الستين بمناسبة نهاية الحرب العالمية الثانية . خلال هذا الحدث ، ألقى الجورجي الأرميني فلاديمير أروتيونيان قنبلة حية على الرئيس بوش بينما كان يتحدث في محاولة فاشلة لاغتياله.

freedom square tbilisi

tbilsi 3
tbilisi 1
tbilisi 2

Tbilisi - Capital of Georgia

Best time to visit: spring, summer, autumn

Tbilisi is the capital of the country of Georgia. Its cobblestoned old town reflects a long, complicated history, with periods under Persian and Russian rule. Its diverse architecture encompasses Eastern Orthodox churches, ornate art nouveau buildings and Soviet Modernist structures. Looming over it all are Narikala, a reconstructed 4th-century fortress, and Kartlis Deda, an iconic statue of the “Mother of Georgia.”

Sightseeing:

The Holy Trinity Cathedral of Tbilisi commonly known as Sameba is the main cathedral of the Georgian Orthodox Church located in Tbilisi, the capital of Georgia. Constructed between 1995 and 2004, it is the third-tallest Eastern Orthodox cathedral in the world and one of the largest religious buildings in the world by total area. Sameba is a synthesis of traditional styles dominating the Georgian church architecture at various stages in history and has some Byzantine undertones.

Narikala - is an ancient fortress overlooking Tbilisi, the capital of Georgia, and the Kura River. The fortress consists of two walled sections on a steep hill between the sulphur baths and the botanical gardens of Tbilisi. The fortress was established in the 4th century as Shuris-tsikhe (i.e., "Invidious Fort"). It was considerably expanded by the Umayyads in the 7th century and later, by king David the Builder (1089–1125). The Mongols renamed it "Narin Qala" (i.e., "Little Fortress"). Most of extant fortifications date from the 16th and 17th centuries. In 1827, parts of the fortress were damaged by an earthquake and demolished.

Kartlis Deda - Mother of a Kartli or Mother of a Georgian - is a monument in Georgia’s capital Tbilisi.

The statue was erected on the top of Sololaki hill in 1958, the year Tbilisi celebrated its 1500th anniversary. Prominent Georgian sculptor Elguja Amashukeli designed the twenty-metre aluminium figure of a woman in Georgian national dress. She symbolizes the Georgian national character: in her left hand she holds a bowl of wine to greet those who come as friends, and in her right hand is a sword for those who come as enemies

Abanotubani - is the ancient district of Tbilisi, Georgia, known for its sulfuric baths.

Located at the eastern bank of the Mtkvari River at the foot of Narikala fort across Metekhisubani, Abanotubani is an important historic part of the city — the place, where according to a legend the King of Iberia, Vakhtang Gorgasali’s falcon fell, leading to a discovery of the hot springs and, subsequently, to founding of a new capital.

Mtatsminda Park is a famous landscaped park located at the top of Mount Mtatsminda overlooking the Georgian capital Tbilisi. The park has carousels, water slides, a roller-coaster, and a big Ferris Wheel at the edge of the mountain, offering a splendid view over the city.

The Mtatsminda Pantheon of Writers and Public Figures is a necropolis in Tbilisi, Georgia, where some of the most prominent writers, artists, scholars, and national heroes of Georgia are buried. It is located in the churchyard around St. David’s Church "Mamadaviti" on the slope of Mount Mtatsminda (meaning the Holy Mountain) and was officially established in 1929. Atop the mountain is Mtatsminda Park, an amusement park owned by the municipality of Tbilisi.

Rustaveli Avenue formerly known as Golovin Street, is the central avenue in Tbilisi named after the medieval Georgian poetShota Rustaveli.

The avenue starts at Freedom Square and extends for about 1.5 km in length, before it turns into an extension of Kostava Street. Rustaveli is often considered the main thoroughfare of Tbilisi due to a large number of governmental, public, cultural, and business buildings that are located along or near the avenue. The former Parliament of Georgia building, the Georgian National Opera Theater, the Rustaveli State Academic Theater, the Georgian Academy of SciencesKashveti ChurchSimon Janashia Museum of Georgia (part of the Georgian National Museum), and Biltmore Hotel Tbilisi among others, are all located on Rustaveli.

The Kashveti Church of St. George  is a Georgian Orthodox Church in central Tbilisi, located across from the Parliament building on Rustaveli Avenue.

The Kashveti church was constructed between 1904 and 1910 by the architect Leopold Bilfeldt, who based his design on the medieval Samtavisi Cathedral. The construction was sponsored by the Georgian nobility and bourgeoisie. Kashveti was built on the site of a damaged church built of brick at the request of the Amilakhvari family in 1753. Significant contributions to the current church’s ornate design were made by N. Agladze. Kashveti’s frescoes were painted by the influential Georgian painter, Lado Gudiashvili, in 1947.

The name "kashveti" is derived from Georgian words kva for a "stone" and shva "to give birth." Legend has it the prominent 6th century monk David of Gareja of the Thirteen Assyrian Fathers was accused by a woman of making her a pregnant in Tbilisi. David prophesied his denial would be proved when she gave birth to a stone. She did, and the place received the name of "kashveti."

Metekhi is a historic neighborhood of TbilisiGeorgia, located on the elevated cliff that overlooks the Mtkvari river. The neighborhood is home to the eponymous Metekhi Church of Assumption.

The district was one of the earliest inhabited areas on the city’s territory. According to traditional accounts, King Vakhtang I Gorgasali erected here a church and a fort which served also as a king’s residence; hence comes the name Metekhi which dates back to the 12th century and literally means “the area around the palace”. Tradition holds that it was also a site where the 5th-century martyr lady Saint Shushanik was buried. Legend has it also that the Metekhi cliff was a site of the martyrdom of Habo (8th century), Tbilisi’s patron saint. A small church in his honor is now under construction at the foot of the cliff.

The Sioni Cathedral of the Dormition is a Georgian Orthodox cathedral in Tbilisi, the capital of Georgia. Following a medieval Georgian tradition of naming churches after particular places in the Holy Land, the Sioni Cathedral bears the name of Mount Zion at Jerusalem. It is commonly known as the "Tbilisi Sioni" to distinguish it from several other churches across Georgia bearing the name Sioni.

The Tbilisi Sioni Cathedral is situated in historic Sionis Kucha (Sioni Street) in downtown Tbilisi, with its eastern façade fronting the right embankment of the Kura River. It was initially built in the 6th and 7th centuries. Since then, it has been destroyed by foreign invaders and reconstructed several times. The current church is based on a 13th-century version with some changes from the 17th to 19th centuries. The Sioni Cathedral was the main Georgian Orthodox Cathedral and the seat of Catholicos-Patriarch of All Georgia until the Holy Trinity Cathedral was consecrated in 2004.

The Anchiskhati Basilica of St Mary is the oldest surviving church in TbilisiGeorgia. It belongs to the Georgian Orthodox Church and dates from the sixth century. According to the old Georgian annals, the church was built by the King Dachi of Iberia (circa 522-534) who had made Tbilisi his capital. Originally dedicated to the Virgin Mary, it was renamed Anchiskhati (i.e., icon of Ancha) in 1675 when the treasured icon of the Savior created by the twelfth-century goldsmith Beka Opizari at the Ancha monastery in Klarjeti (in what is now part of northeast Turkey) was moved to Tbilisi so preserve it from an Ottoman invasion. The icon was preserved at the Basilica of St Mary for centuries (it is now on display at the Art Museum of Georgia).

The basilica was damaged and rebuilt on several occasions from the 15th through 17th centuries due to wars between Georgia and the Persians and Turks. The brick belfry near the Anchiskhati Basilica was built by Catholicos Domenti in 1675.

The look of the structure was drastically changed in the 1870s, when a dome was added. During the Soviet period, all religious ceremonies at Anchiskhati Basilica were halted, and the building transformed into a museum for handicrafts. It was later used as an art studio. From 1958 to 1964 restoration works took place in celebration of the 1500th Jubilee of the founding of Tbilisi, which changed the view of the church back to the seventeenth-century version, however, it was not until 1991, after the independence of Georgia was restored, that the basilica reverted to religious use.

The Anchiskhati Choir based out of the Anchiskhati Basilica is the world's leading exponent of Georgian polyphonic choral music.

Dry Bridge - is extraordinary flea market will keep you entertained for hours. There is a mesmerising assortment of antiques, jewellery and bric-a-brac on sale. In the tough days of Perestroika and the early years of independence, the Dry Bridge is where hard-up citizens of Tbilisi would come to sell their possessions in order to make a little cash. For some people that is still the case today, though for others this is their main business. Everything is laid out on the ground, often carefully arranged on on sheets of material, other times it is a haphazard collection. One person might be trying to sell you twenty-year-old batteries or an old toothbrush, while their neighbour will be touting antique amber and silver jewellery. If you want to buy anything remember to haggle. Prices may be inflated, especially for tourists. Open daily if the weather is good, from 10:00 - 17:00. At weekends there are usually more sellers, but more tourists too.             

Turtle Lake is a direct English translation of Kus Tba a small lake at the outskirts of Tbilisi, the capital of Georgia, so named due to the perceived abundance of turtles living in these places. The other, less frequently used name of this lake is K'ork'i

Turtle Lake is located on the wooded northern slope of Mtatsminda Mount at elevation of 686.7 m above sea level and fed by a small river Varazis-Khevi, a tributary to the Mtkvari (Kura). The area of surface is 0.034 km², while the catchment area is 0.4 km². Maximal depth is 2.6 m.

The Turtle Lake area is designed as a recreational zone and is frequented by the Tbilisians on weekends. It is also a place where festivals and concerts are held. It can be reached either via a road or an aerial tramway leading from Tbilisi’s Vake Municipality - this began operating once more in October 2016, is open from 8:00 until 22:00 and costs 1 lari in each direction. West to the lake is the Open Air Museum of Ethnography, a large exhibition of Georgia’s folk architecture

The Giorgi Chitaia Open Air Museum of Ethnography is an open-air museum in TbilisiGeorgia, displaying the examples of folk architecture and craftwork from various regions of the country. The museum is named after Giorgi Chitaia, a Georgian ethnographer, who founded the museum on April 27, 1966. Since December 30, 2004, it has been administered as part of the Georgian National Museum.

The museum is located west to Turtle Lake on a hill overlooking the Vake district, Tbilisi. It is essentially a historic village populated by buildings moved there from all main territorial subdivisions of Georgia. The museum occupies 52 hectares of land and is arranged in eleven zones, displaying around 70 buildings and more than 8,000 items. The exhibition features the traditional darbazi-type and fiat-roofed stone houses from eastern Georgiaopenwork wooden houses with gable roofs of straw or boards from western Georgia, watchtowers from the mountainous provinces of KhevsuretiPshavi, and SvanetiMegrelian and Imeretian wattle maize storages, Kakhetian wineries (marani), and Kartlian water mills as well as a collection of traditional household articles such as distaffs, knitting-frames, chums, clothes, carpets, pottery and furniture. There are also an early Christian "Sioni" basilica from Tianeti and a 6th-7th century familial burial vault with sarcophagus.

Freedom Square formerly known as Erivan (or Erivanskaya) or Pashkevich-Erivanskaya Square under Imperial Russia and Lenin Square under the Soviet Union, is located in the center of Tbilisi at the eastern end of Rustaveli Avenue.

The square was originally named after Ivan Paskevich, the Count of Erivan, a Ukrainian general of the Russian Imperial Army, who earned his title in honor of his conquest of Erivan (present-day Yerevan) for the Russian Empire. Under the Soviet Union, the square was renamed, first "Beria Square", and then "Lenin Square".[2] The location was first named Freedom Square in 1918, during the foundation of the First Georgian Republic following the collapse of the Russian Empire.

Freedom Square was the site of the 1907 Tiflis bank robbery. Freedom Square has also been the site of various mass demonstrations including those for Georgia's independence (from the Soviet Union), the Rose Revolution, and others. In 2005 Freedom Square was the location where U.S. President George W. Bush and Georgian President Mikheil Saakashvili addressed a crowd of around 100,000 people in celebration of the 60th anniversary marking the end of World War II. During this event, Georgian-Armenian Vladimir Arutyunian threw a live grenade at President Bush while he was speaking in an unsuccessful attempt to assassinate him.

Contact us 

+995 514 000 140 

+995 514 000 146 

+995 514 000 914

WhatsApp - +995 514 000 140

info@judi-travel.com

holidays@judi-travel.com

With love from Tbilisi, Georgia

Judi Travel LLC since 2017

Top 10  Georgian Tour Operators

0150, Gorgasali 8, Tbilisi, Georgia 

All rights reserved 

#momentstoremember

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

For weddings and events

events@judi-travel.com

Member of 

Payment partner